Hit-and-Run Victim Attorney
A car accident is always awful; it’s even worse when the other driver flees the scene of the accident. Drivers may flee after a car wreck because they are scared, don’t have insurance, or simply don’t feel like being held accountable for their actions. However, fleeing the scene of a car wreck is never a good idea, and the offending party will often get caught. This will lead to a criminal charge that they would have avoided had they simply stopped after the wreck.
If you were the victim of a hit and run, contact the Texas car accident attorneys at Hernandez Law Group, P.C. We’ve successfully litigated several vehicle accident cases and will help you get the compensation you deserve. Contact us today to schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with one of our personal injury attorneys.
What is Considered a Hit and Run?
Any time a driver hits another vehicle, a pedestrian, or another person’s property and flees the scene, it is considered a hit and run. A driver who hits another vehicle should stop, check on the occupants of the other vehicle, call the police and wait for them at the scene, and exchange information with the other driver. A driver who hits a pedestrian should stop, check on the pedestrian, call 911, and wait for the police and/or ambulance to arrive at the scene. Drivers are required to remain at the scene of an accident even if the other person was at fault.
If a driver hits a parked car, they can leave the scene of the accident as long as they leave their contact information in a place that the vehicle’s owner will be able to find it; otherwise, it is considered a hit and run. The same goes for if a driver hits any other property owned by another person, such as a mailbox, fence, or stone retaining wall.
Is a Hit and Run a Felony in Texas?
Whether a hit and run is a felony or misdemeanor depends on the circumstances and outcome of the accident. In Texas, the guidelines for determining what kind of charge a person will get after a hit and run are as follows:
- 3rd-degree felony – a hit and run resulting in wrongful death or serious bodily injury.
- State jail felony – a hit and run resulting in injury.
- Class B misdemeanor – a hit and run resulting in damage exceeding $200 and no injuries.
- Class C misdemeanor – a hit and run resulting in damage less than $200 and no injuries.
Even if a driver who hits you is convicted in a criminal courtroom, you will still need to file a civil suit to recover damages from them. Criminal prosecutors are not responsible for getting crime victims compensation for their damages after a hit and run. If you were the victim of a hit and run, you should call the attorneys at Hernandez Law Group right away. We’ll make sure that the responsible party is held accountable for the damages you incurred.
How to Report a Hit and Run
After a hit and run, you should follow the same steps you would after any accident. The first step is to immediately write down any defining features that may help the police find the perpetrator’s vehicle. Important features include the color, make, model, and license plate of the vehicle. If there were any witnesses, ask them if they noted any defining features as well.
Your next step in reporting a hit and run is to call the police so you can file a police report. Tell the 911 operator your description of the vehicle so that the police can begin looking for the perpetrator. You should also ask for an ambulance if anyone was hurt.
What should I Do if my Car was Hit while Parked?
If your car was hit while parked, you should call the police. Next, see if there were any witnesses that saw the collision or cameras around that caught footage of the accident. The police will be able to take witness statements and – if there are cameras around – request the footage from those cameras.
Hit-and-Run Accident Attorney in Texas
If you were hit by a driver who fled the scene of the accident, contact Hernandez Law Group today. Juan Hernandez is board-certified to practice personal injury law in the state of Texas. Only 2% of attorneys have received this important certification. He and his team are the ones to turn to if you want to receive full compensation after being the victim of a hit and run. Contact us today to schedule a consultation. We have offices in Dallas, Abilene, and Amarillo.